6 thoughts on “Geofencing and “Free Speech”

  1. This was not only well written, this was very interesting as i was SO unfamiliar with the app and the concept of geo-fencing. Will have to do more research on that. I agree that nothing prevents people from being ugly unless it’s looking at perfect beauty.

    Like

    • Thanks! I downloaded the app not too long ago – I work at Georgia State University – because I was curious as to what our students were saying. Luckily, there was nothing threatening but I did witness a lot of bullying to unknown people. This is a pretty neat technology – it’s a shame that people can’t put it to better use.

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing this information, Katie. I am just knowing about geo-fencing and it makes a lot of sense to me. I am happy you came up with such an educative topic. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post and very informative Katie. Using the Geo-fencing sounds like a cool idea for businesses or neighbors to interact. However, the first thing I thought of is… why does such an app exist? I have never heard of it either. There needs to be some regulations for some of these apps because they are detrimental for peaceful society. Katie, you could write an article or a blog to inform people of this app and send it to most of these schools. I will definitely share this in the next PTA meeting. As a mom of a middle school student, I am obviously concerned because who knows what the kids are talking about that parents are unaware of. Thanks for sharing
    ~ Carol

    Liked by 1 person

    • To most reasonable people this is just a quirky app that you can anonymously post your thoughts or pose questions to those in the same area as you. When I have children – and if they have access to such apps I’ll more then likely screen what they can have on their devices and discuss the proper way to use and respond to them – just for such issues. The more technology comes out the more we have to be worried about – just the nature of the beast.

      Like

  4. Yes, I don’t really see a point in this app either. I’m not too keen on the idea of people being able to post anonymously (at least so easily) I feel this will promote a lot of negative behavior. Interesting post. I had not heard of this app prior to this posting. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment